Skip to main content

Wаrriors Guаrd Steрhen Curry Wіns PBWA’ѕ 2023-24 Mаgic Johnѕon Awаrd

Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry has won the 2023-24 Magic Johnson Award, which honors the NBA player who best combines excellence on the court with cooperation and grace in dealing with the media and fans, the Professional Basketball Writers Association announced today. Curry, who also won the award in 2016, is just the third two-time honoree, joining Damian Lillard (2017, 2020) and Shane Battier (2007,2013).

Curry averaged 26.4 points, 4.5 rebounds and 5.1 assists per game this season, leading the Warriors to a 46-36 record. Off the court, Curry consistently fostered an atmosphere of mutual respect and openness with reporters who cover the NBA.

Curry was one of five finalists for the award, based on nominations from PBWA members. The others were Bam Adebayo of the Miami Heat, DeMar DeRozan of the Chicago Bulls, Rudy Gobert of the Minnesota Timberwolves and Tyrese Haliburton of the Indiana Pacers. A vote of the full PBWA membership determined the winner.

The award, created in 2001, is named in honor of Earvin “Magic” Johnson, the former Los Angeles Lakers star, who was consistently engaging, thoughtful and gracious with the media throughout his Hall of Fame career. The PBWA is composed of more than 200 writers and editors who cover the NBA regularly for newspapers, magazines and online news outlets.

Magic Johnson Award Winners

2000-01 Ray Allen Milwaukee Bucks
2001-02 Elton Brand Los Angeles Clippers
2002-03 Jalen Rose Chicago Bulls
2003-04 Jermaine O’Neal Indiana Pacers
2004-05 Antwan Jamison Washington Wizards
2005-06 Grant Hill Orlando Magic
2006-07 Shane Battier Houston Rockets
2007-08 Derek Fisher Los Angeles Lakers
2008-09 Brandon Roy Portland Trail Blazers
2009-10 Chris Bosh Toronto Raptors
2010-11 Kevin Durant Oklahoma City Thunder
2011-12 Steve Nash Phoenix Suns
2012-13 Shane Battier Miami Heat
2013-14 Dirk Nowitzki Dallas Mavericks
2014-15 Pau Gasol Chicago Bulls
2015-16 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors
2016-17 Damian Lillard Portland Trail Blazers
2017-18 DeMar DeRozan Toronto Raptors
2018-19 Dwyane Wade Miami Heat
2019-20 Damian Lillard Portland Trail Blazers
2020-21 N/A Pandemic N/A Pandemic
2021-22 N/A Pandemic N/A Pandemic
2022-23 Giannis Antetokounmpo Milwaukee Bucks
2023-24 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors